the three data networks

Primary tabs


A data network is a collection of components that pass digital data from one computer to another. A data network is usually described using a network topology diagram.

Components making up a data network include NICs, ethernet switches and ethernet cables. There are three sets of these components in the LIC, making three data networks.

what it is

The three data networks are colour coded. The three coloured lines in the LIC topology "data networks" diagram represent the three data networks.

  • The red lines are the biz01 network.
  • The blue lines are the biz02 network.
  • The grey lines are the adm01 network.

The biz01 and biz02 networks provide HA. the adm01 network provides traffic separation. These are explained later.

LIC topology: the three data networks

This simple diagram does not show the gory details like the network cables used to connect each PC to the ethernet switches.

All three networks lead to the same place: the Internet DMZ. This is the brains of the LIC. Services for Internet customers go here.

The traffic cops controlling these networks are called firewalls. They provide network security.

Each vertical line is called a spine or backbone. The name is meant to give the impression that it is a central part of the structure that other things hang off, like in a skeleton. The vertical lines are different colours to the horizontal lines because these must carry much more traffic. Components used to build the the vertical lines should have higher bandwidth eg. 1 gigabit bandwidth for the vertical bits and 100 megabit bandwidth for the horizontal bit.

what it isn't

The same as the LIC network. It is only one part. The power network is another. This is only a part of the LIC network.

where it is

In my data center. Which is a garden shed.